ip rating

IP is the abbreviation of ingress protection, and the IP grade is the protection against foreign matter intrusion of the electrical equipment shell.

The protection level is derived from the Standard IEC 60529 of the International Electrotechnical Commission, which was also adopted as the American national standard in 2004.

In this standard, for the protection of electrical equipment shells against foreign matters, the format of IP grade is ipxx, where XX is two Arabic numerals. The first marked number represents the contact protection and foreign object protection grade, and the second marked number represents the waterproof protection grade. For specific protection grades, please refer to the following table

IP dust-proof grade is divided into 6 grades, from low to high: 1-6. IP waterproof grade is divided into 8 grades, from low to high: 1-8. If dust-proof is not required, the writing method is ipx6. If water-proof is not required, it is ip5x, etc.

Dust proof grade

0: no protection;
1: Prevent large solid intrusion;
2: Prevent medium-sized solid intrusion;
3: Prevent small solids from entering;
4: Prevent solid objects larger than 1mm from entering;
5: Prevent harmful dust accumulation;
6: Completely prevent dust from entering.

Waterproof grade

0: no protection;
1: No effect when water drops into the shell;
2: When the shell is tilted to 15 degrees, the water drops into the shell have no effect;
3: Water or rainwater has no effect from the 60-degree corner to the shell;
4: The liquid splashed on the shell from any direction has no harmful effect;
5: Rinse with water without any harm;
6: It can be used in the cabin environment;
7: It can withstand immersion in a short time (1m);
8: Immerse in water for a long time under a certain pressure.

For example, the IP protection grade of the display instrument is marked as IP65, which means that the product can completely prevent dust from entering and can be washed with water without any damage.

The usual IP protection level tests are: ip42, IP43, IP54, IP55, IP65, IP66, IP67, and IP68 protection level tests.

Related articles